Rohit Sharma becomes the first player to be a part of 100 wins in T20I cricket

MOHALI, India (AP) — India captain Rohit Sharma became the first men’s player to be a part of 100 wins in T20I cricket. India beat Afghanistan by 6 wickets in the first T20I of the three-match series in Mohali on January 11.

England’s Danni Wyatt (111) has won most T20I matches. Australia’s Alyssa Healy and Ellyse Perry (100) are also among the top winners.

Most games won in men’s T20Is

Rohit Sharma: 100

Shoaib Malik: 86

Virat Kohli: 73

Mohammad Hafeez: 70

Mohammad Nabi: 70

India’s chase began on a horrible note. Returning to the T20 fold after 14 months, Rohit Sharma was run out for a two-ball duck.

His partner Shubman Gill was watching the ball as the skipper was run out. He did make up for it, with 23 off 12 balls, hitting five well-timed boundaries.

Gill was stumped off Mujeeb ur Rahman in the fourth over as India was down to 28-2.

The hosts had to rebuild with Tilak Varma and Dube putting on 44 off 29 balls for the third wicket. Varma was out against the run of play, holing out in the ninth over as India’s chase eased off.

Dube took command from one end, reaching 50 off 38 balls, finishing with a career-high score. Meanwhile Jitesh Sharma’s cameo of 31 off 20 balls put India ahead of the asking rate.

India’s tempo in the second half of its innings meant that the chase was never under any threat.

It was Afghanistan’s first bilateral T20 contest against India on Indian soil with talismanic wrist spinner Rashid Khan missing out.

Brief scores:

India (159/4 in 17.3 overs) beat Afghanistan (158/5). Shivam Dube (60*), Jitesh Sharma (31), Axar Patel (2/23)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *