Dubai travel advice: Brit tourists issued warnings about booking holidays | Travel News | Travel

Brits keen on visiting the authentic holiday hotspot of Dubai have been warned to “remain vigilant at all times” as the risk of a terrorist attack happening against UK citizens has “increased”.

The United Arab Emirates’s most populous city, Dubai, welcomes thousands of tourists every year, including A-list celebrities, to wander round its skyscrapers and manmade lakes and water features.

It is especially welcome for lots of people who seek a bit of warmth during the cold winter months in the UK.

However, the UK Foreign Office has recently issued an urgent travel warning for people travelling to the UAE, as well as 17 nearby countries, as a result of the “military activity” which is occurring in the Middle East.

While the Israel-Gaza war may have triggered the current unrest in the Middle East region, it is the American and British involvement in the Red Sea which the Foreign Office refers to as a reason to possibly not travel.

The new advice reads: “Military activity is currently underway in response to attempts by Houthi militants to prevent movement of international shipping in the Red Sea.

“While the area of activity is limited to the Red Sea and Yemen, there is a possibility that Travel Advice for nearby countries could change at short notice. You should continue to monitor Travel Advice and follow any relevant instructions from local authorities.”

Officials say there is a “high threat of terrorist attacks globally affecting UK interests and British nationals, including from groups and individuals who view the UK and British nationals as targets”.

While the advice doesn’t say Brits shouldn’t travel at all, it does warn them to “remain vigilant at all times”, according to the advice.

The Foreign Office has said 18 countries are affected by the new travel warnings. The full list reads:

  • Lebanon

  • Syria

  • Jordan

  • Israel

  • Palestine

  • Egypt

  • Djibouti

  • Eritrea

  • Somalia

  • Saudi Arabia

  • Yemen

  • Oman

  • UAE

  • Kuwait

  • Iraq

  • Iran

  • Bahrain

  • Qatar

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *